Quilters Christmas Party

After postponing the Cedar County Piecemaker’s Christmas party due to weather last week, it appears as though the weather will cooperate this week. Our exchange is a mug rug or coasters. My initial thoughts were to make a Christmas themed mug rug. After thinking about it a little more, I decided that a mug rug that would be appropriate for a greater part of the year would be more practical. Yup, that’s me–practical.

I had found a quilt pattern that featured a variety of cups and mugs that I thought was cute. Why not make one of the blocks for a mug rug? It turned out to be an easy block and I did use colors that are somewhat wintery. The block is from a quilt called “In From the Cold” by Kate Spain. The full pattern can be found here: http://www.unitednotions.com/fp_in-from-the-cold.pdf. Someday I would like to make the entire quilt. There are additional ideas on using blocks from the quilt here http://blog.modafabrics.com/2013/06/in-from-the-cold-mini-project-and-gift-bag/ This is how my block turned out. I hope the person that receives it will like it.

Mug Rug

Since I may not be back for a bit, I want to wish everyone Happy Holidays, whatever holiday it is you celebrate. May the season bring you peace and joy.

Mary

2 thoughts on “Quilters Christmas Party

Leave a comment