Rail Fence Finally Finished

rail fenceHave you ever started a quilt with a  holiday theme  only to not get it finished in time for that holiday?  Did you then put it aside because the holiday was over and you have another year to get it done?  Several July 4th holidays had come and gone for this quilt, so I decided it was the perfect 1st quilt for Millie to complete.  This quilt had begun its life as a demonstration for beginning quilters.  What better pattern for a beginner.  Simple and striking.

At the February meeting of the Cedar County Piecemakers, an alternative binding technique was discussed.  Instead of folding and pressing the binding strip before applying to the quilt, the pressing was eliminated.  Of course with a quilt ready to be bound, I just couldn’t resist trying out the new (to me) technique.  Initially I wasn’t sure that I was going to like folding the stip in half as I went, but found out after just a few inches that it was not a problem.  I do think it made it easier to join the ends together without the crease.  The binding was done totally by machine and I do believe it looks good.  rail fence binding

Leave a comment